The 2013-14 Blackwell Award winner will be announced in September.  Come back soon for more information about this exciting award!  The award will be presented at the 2014 AALS meeting in New York, New York on January 8, 2014 at 8 p.m. We will let you know the place soon.  A plaque, listing the winners, is on display at Appalachian Law School.

About the 2014 Blackwell Award

Award Criteria

Tom BlackwellHonoring the life of Thomas F. Blackwell for his personal and professional qualities as a Legal Writing educator, the Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors give this award to recognize a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of Legal Writing by demonstrating:

  1. an ability to nurture and motivate students to excellence;
  2. a willingness to help other Legal Writing educators improve their teaching skills or their Legal Writing Programs; and
  3. an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating Legal Writing educators and students.

Former Winners

Richard Neumann (2003)
Pamela Lysaght (2004)
Ralph Brill (2005)
Mary Beth Beazley (2006)
Lou Sirico (2007)
Diana Pratt (2008)
Linda Edwards (2009)
Steve Johansen (2010)
Carol McCrehan Parker (2011)
Suzanne E. Rowe (2012)
Judy Stinson (2013)